Roman Holiday 2013

I have been lucky enough to travel to Rome for the last two years for the big Supernatural convention there, Jus In Bello.

It is a massive convention with a very different energy to it than the other conventions run throughout the year. There are always lots of guests, and the guys always seem more relaxed and have more fun during their panels and in their interactions with fans.

This year I was doubly blessed because my friends and I won passes to Roman Holiday a three hour tour of some landmarks in Rome with some of the guys from the show. It is an extremely limited event with only a few available places (it’s like winning the lottery!) so we were so fortunate enough to get to go. It was a wonderful opportunity to take photos.

Trevi Fountain, Rome Italy
Trevi Fountain, Rome Italy

So I will break up my posts about JIBcon into two lots, the first will be photos taken on Roman Holiday, and the second for photos from the rest of the convention.

Because of security, the location for Roman Holiday isn’t known until we are actually on the bus on the way there. We were taken into the very heart of Rome, to the Trevi Fountain, where we took photos and waited for the guys to show up. Sure enough, Misha Collins, Rob Benedict, Richard Speight Jr, Jason Manns, Matt Cohen, Sebastian Roche, Steve Carlson, Brock Kelly and Ty Olsson sauntered over to us, and after some initial nervousness we started the tour.

Walking along the thousands-of-years old cobblestoned streets of Rome with the guys from Supernatural? Not something that I would have expected to ever do, but makes a pretty kick ass entry on a bucket list.

Rob Benedict
Rob Benedict

The guys were all really warm and friendly and made an effort to talk to everyone, even those who were too shy to approach them. We walked first to the Palazzo Doria Pamphilj, to see the Doria Pamphilj Gallery. It was beautiful, filled with paintings (a Caravaggio!) and statues and luxuriously decorated with sixteenth century chairs.

Doria Pamphilj Gallery
Doria Pamphilj Gallery

We then made our way to the Sant’Ignazio Church, with it’s fabled ceiling that is painted to give the illusion that there is a huge and lofty cupola, rather than a flat ceiling surface. It was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen, and it was amazing seeing Misha Collins just as taken aback as I was (but then he made a joke about the building not being finished properly, so they had to paint their way out of a dilemma).

Sant'Ignazio Church
Sant’Ignazio Church

The last stop on our tour was the Pantheon. We had seen so much and I was so grateful and yet I still didn’t want it to end! I felt so lucky to have got to experience it all.

The Pantheon
The Pantheon
The Guys <3
The Guys <3

I don’t often tell people when I’m going to these things, because I feel weird about talking about it. But I am so, eternally grateful that I have the opportunity to do these things, and I don’t want anyone to think I take a minute of it for granted. Because I don’t.

Thank you to Daniela Chiusa and the wonderful Jus In Bello convention crew for an amazing experience, and thank you to Misha Collins, Rob Benedict, Richard Speight Jr, Matt Cohen, Sebastian Roche, Brock Kelly, Jason Manns, Steve Carlson and Ty Olsson for spending the morning with us in Rome and for helping to make it so memorable.

If you would like to see the rest of my Roman Holiday pictures, visit the gallery here

4 thoughts on “Roman Holiday 2013

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

