SinCon 2014

The Convention year kicked off with a bang on the weekend, with Salute to Supernatural Las Vegas 2014, or as we like to call it, SinCon 2014.

Everything is bigger and bolder in Vegas, and the Supernatural conventions are no exception. This year, as well as having the infamous Elastic Waste Band as the official houseband and Richard Speight Jr as Host, the con was going to be run over four days. And it was four jam-packed days, with panels, talent shows, costume contests, photo ops, autographs, a special “Lounge Lizards” themed Karaoke Kings show and even a concert by Louden Swain.

I get exhausted just remembering it and writing it down.

I was really looking forward to the Louden Swain concert on Thursday night. It was the first concert back for Rob Benedict and the band, and they were playing songs from their new album Sky Alive. It was such an amazing show and I felt so lucky to be able to capture it. I think I am most proud of these concert photos than of any photos I have ever taken.

Rob Benedict and Louden Swain
Rob Benedict and Louden Swain
Rob Benedict
Rob Benedict

The Karaoke Kings Richard Speight Jr and Matt Cohen were back with a special Vegas-only themed Karaoke party, “Lounge Lizards”. As you can expect, they didn’t disappoint and oozed rat pack (Dick and Matt-Pack?) style.

Richard Speight Jr, Karaoke King and Convention Host
Richard Speight Jr, Karaoke King and Convention Host

The scheduling in Vegas was very different. Saturday was a huge day – the two “headliner” panels were on the same day. First up was Misha Collins, who was as funny and warm as ever (you’ve heard me talk about him, you don’t need me to elaborate, I’m sure)

Misha Collins
Misha Collins

Then it was the Js – Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles. Having the house band on stage seemed to loosen the guys up and the panel was frenetic – funny and loud and bawdy – probably one of the best I have ever seen them do!

Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles
Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles

The four days were exhausting, and by then end of it I was actually sick and missed photographing a few panels, which really disappointed me. But I have to learn to let it go and just be happy with what I have. I decided to edit with a mixture of black and white and colour this time around – the concert, karaoke and cabaret seemed to suit a dark, inky black and white while the panels are sort of a matte colour.

I was wondering as I was editing whether doing the 365 Project has influenced my shooting at a convention and I think it has. I felt more confident going into it, and when I was there I was very focused. When I get home I’m still fighting those feelings of “I hate everything I do, I haven’t got anything to work with”. I doubt that’s ever going to go away completely but I just have to take a step back and breathe and then look over what I’ve got again.

These photos are all a window into what I saw and felt and experienced during the weekend. It was beautiful and bold and intense and emotional and if I can give even the smallest amount of that feeling to someone looking at the photos I’ll be happy.

 

2 thoughts on “SinCon 2014

Add yours

  1. Great post, Meg!! Your SinCon pics are so good – they certainly give me a glimpse into the Con world. Your photos have such “heart” – I don’t know how else to describe it. I was really touched by your pics of the Loudon Swain concert – your love and respect for Rob shines through. I’m sure he’ll love his book!!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

