Man Of Steel Premiere AU

Sometimes the very best plans are the ones made on the spur of the moment.

Such was my plan to fly up to the Man of Steel premiere in Sydney. I talked my Mum into coming (she is a huge Henry Cavill fan, so didn’t need a great deal of convincing) and we set off on Sunday morning.

We managed to stay close to the cinema, on George Street. Before the weekend, I had tried every avenue to be allowed a photographer press pass in order to secure a good position to take photos. But, as I learned the hard way, they don’t want to know you unless you are in some way affiliated with media – and even then it’s extremely difficult. I had never shot a premiere; I had absolutely no idea what to expect. All I knew was that I had to get there early. So, six hours before the estimated start time of the premiere, I camped myself in the cinema near where they were rigging up the lighting and backdrops.

Setting Up

Setting Up

I kept politely introducing myself to the event crew and security guards in the hopes of finding out where the best position would be for me to take photos. Walking around with my huge zoom around my neck evidently convinced them that I meant business, so they did all they could to help me. I’m so grateful, they really looked out for me and told me where they thought I should stand throughout the day. I felt like a chess piece being manoeuvred around a board, and I’m still not sure if I ended up in the best place. But I did manage to take some photos.

Media

Media

Director Zac Snyder with fans

Director Zac Snyder with fans

Henry Cavill

Henry Cavill

I have also discovered however, two things about myself shooting this premiere.

a) I’m way too short.. and
b) I’m not aggressive enough

In the “fan pit” it really is about standing your ground and toughing it out. But being 5’3″ also puts me at an extreme disadvantage!

One thing I did love was all the lighting. It created a really moody affect when I converted the photos into black and white. I have never been 100% comfortable playing with light, so I found it good practice. I sort of like the look of how they aren’t uniform – they aren’t the same sort of photos that the official photographers get (although maybe I’m saying that to make myself feel better that I wasn’t with them!) . They do give a real reflection of what it was like there.

Richard Wilkins interviews Henry Cavill

Richard Wilkins interviews Henry Cavill

Lined Up

Lined Up

Henry Cavill was not only beautiful (it’s true, he really actually is) but he was gracious and charming and very sweet. I’m very, very grateful I got the chance to photograph him.

Henry Cavill

Henry Cavill

He had photos and signed for so many people. I was lucky enough to get a photo, and even though it is completely blurry and I look weird, I’m treasuring it!

Henry Cavill and me

Henry Cavill and me

* If you would like to see the rest of the photos from the Man of Steel Premiere, check out the gallery on my site here

9 comments

  1. Love your work! You’re such a cool chick braving the ‘fan pit’ & getting right in there. You’re so right – Henry Cavill really is gorgeous.

  2. Yes, it was good fun, wasn’t? And we did get to see Henry close up – and he really is beautiful, as you said. You did manage to get some terrific shots, even tho’ in the end you weren’t in the best position. You were a bit unlucky with that. The guys did try to help you but I think there was a bit of disorganisation on the part of the boss people. Still we had a great trip, didn’t we?

  3. The first picture you put in this post of Henry…with all the press and him looking over his shoulder. I don’t know…there is something about the framing of that shot that struck me. It reminds me a lot of the type of “action” shots you see in fashion editorials of actors. Something about how he seems so separate from the mad crush of the press and fans. It’s not perfect…but I think that’s why I dig it. So many editorial shoots look static…forced. Because this was caught naturally it adds something. I also love the picture of the cameraman. Don’t know why…just do.

    Extra…I AM SO JEALOUS! Dear God but he is pretty…to be that close to that much pretty. *le sigh*

  4. Beautiful shots. Might I suggest sending Henry copies as a memento of his last premiere? You have a wonderful eye.

      1. You can get his agents address right here on the blog and send to him. They will give them to him. Once he sees them, I’m sure he’d be appreciative.

  5. So did you just basically came up early and wait it out? Was it hard to get to meet him? Did some of the official guys there tried to shoo you off because you’re not affiliated to some big media?

    1. I did try to organise a press pass before the day, but because I’m not officially affiliated with anyone I wasn’t able to get into the press pit. I basically showed up early, and waited. I approached security people and event staff and politely asked where would be the best place for me to stand to take photos. I was only told to move once, and in the end I think I was in a better spot anyway. No one was rude to me, and I just stayed polite and patient. I think that’s all you can do really, until you’re in a position to be able to be moved in with the “pros” lol

Leave a comment